ALTA Award of Excellence


The Alberta Library Trustees Association (ALTA) Board of Directors established the Award of Excellence to recognize Library Boards that have enabled and supported their libraries to provide on-going excellent service to their communities over a five-year operational time period. The successful candidate(s) will be notified and be given the choice of where they would like the award presented to them. The award may be presented to the board in its home community at mutually convenient time as soon as possible after the award is announced. Up to two awards will be presented each year:



In general, eligible Library Boards should have:

In particular, Boards will have served their communities in one or more of the following ways:

Winner of 2019 Award of Excellence
Brooks Public Library Board

ALTA president, Dr. Tanya Pollard, presented the City of Brooks Public Library Board with the 2019 Award of Excellence on Wednesday, May 15th.

Brooks Library Manager, Lisa Crosby, said “Our Trustees are big picture thinkers who know when to dig into the nitty-gritty and when to let their vision rise above the whirlwind of everyday business. They have the forethought to develop policy that adapts well and they stay on top of it with an industrious review schedule. The Access to Services policy is a real step forward in how the library meets community needs. Essentially, the board committed library services to consider the needs of each patron individually to ensure that the needs of our whole community are met – not in spite of our innumerable diversities, but because of them.”

Lets make sure to give a big Congratulations to the Brooks Public Library Trustees for their extraordinary work! Enjoy your new home! Take a look at their website

Past Award Winners

2018: Camrose Public Library Board

2015: Medicine Hat Public Library Board

2014: Yellowhead County Library Board

2013: Westlock Intermunicipal Library Board

2012: Edmonton Public Library

2011: Strathcona County Library Board

2007: Blackfalds Public Library Board

2006: St. Paul Municipal Library Board

2005: Medicine Hat Public Library Board

2004: Calgary Public Library Board

2003: Wainwright Public Library Board

2002: Mayerthorpe Public Library Board