Join the ALTA Board

Nominations for 2024-2026 Alberta Library Trustees Board of Directors is now being accepted!

About Elections

The following Areas are up for nominations and will be received until May 1, 2024.

Director Position

Alternate Position

Please click on the link below for the 2024-26 nomination form:

5.1. There shall be a Board of Directors of ALTA comprised of Directors elected to represent each of eight geographic areas, and a Director appointed by each of the public library boards in the cities of Edmonton and Calgary.

5.1.2. Each geographical area plus the public libraries of the cities of Edmonton and Calgary, shall appoint an alternate member, which may attend all meetings of the Board of Directors but shall not have a vote unless it is a proxy vote of their representative

As per ALTA’s bylaws, the 2024-2026 President will be elected within the ALTA Board of Directors, comprised of 10 representatives from across Alberta. (Areas 1-8, CPL and EPL)

5.1.3. At its first meeting following the Annual General Meeting, the Board of Directors shall elect from among its membership a President for a two year term, a Vice President and a Treasurer, each for a term of one year. The President may be re-elected for a maximum of three (3) consecutive two (2) year terms.

For more information on the ALTA Board, please click here.