Lois Hole Lifetime Achievement Award


The Alberta Library Trustees Association (ALTA) Board of Directors established the Lois Hole Life Membership Award to recognize Albertans who have made a significant contribution to libraries and library trusteeship. The Board of Directors reserves the right to determine how many Lois Hole Life Memberships, if any, are to be awarded each year. The Alberta Library Trustees Association established the Lois Hole Award in 2001 in honour of the passion that our Lieutenant-Governor had for the role libraries play in our society and in gratitude for her support for libraries in Alberta. The successful candidate(s) will be notified and be given the choice of where they would like the award presented to them.  


CRITERIA In general, persons eligible should have:

In particular, persons eligible may have achieved one or more of the following:

Winner of 2019 Lois Hole Lifetime Achievement Award
Marilyn King

The Alberta Library Trustees’ Association is delighted to present the Lois Hole Lifetime Achievement Award to Marilyn King for her service as both Secretary and Chair of nine years. Marilyn has been regarded as a model library advocate and mentor for all who know her; she is a wellspring of energy, enthusiasm and stamina for both the library in Chestermere and for all libraries in Alberta.

This list of supporters for Marilyn’s acheivements and dedication goes on. It then summed up by her nominaters with; “Thank you, Marilyn, for everything.” We here at ALTA could not be more proud! We hope this award will help show your work has not gone unnoticed.

Past Award Winners

2017: Diane Osberg

2016: Dwight Nagel, Alix Library Board

2014: Gary Beeson, Swan Hills Library