Awards and Honours


ALTA has established an Awards Program to honour exemplary trustees and boards, and invites the participation of its members in nominating worthy colleagues for our two major awards. Descriptions of both awards and the criteria for them are available online, as are Nomination Forms to be printed out and submitted according to the guidelines. They can also be requested from the ALTA office through mail or fax.  

Award nominations are to be submitted each year. Applications will be accepted until March 31st of every year. To apply, please download and submit the ALTA Award Nomination Form. For current award recipients, eligibility requirements, and application information, please follow the links below.

Winner of 2019 Award of Excellence

Brooks Public Library Board

ALTA president, Dr. Tanya Pollard, presented the City of Brooks Public Library Board with the 2019 Award… Read more

Winner of 2019 Lois Hole Lifetime Achievement Award

Marilyn King

The Alberta Library Trustees' Association is delighted to present the Lois Hole Lifetime Achievement Award… Read more

Winner of 2020 Lorne MacRae Intellectual Freedom Fund

Jennifer McDevitt

The Alberta Library Trustees’ Association is delighted to present the Lorne MacRae Intellectual Freedom Award… Read more